General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | [2] | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User 4M2
(fountain of knowledge) Sat 30-Mar-13 22:31:25
Print Post

Re: DSL Error Help

[re: Vince730i] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by Vince730i:
I've got noise on my landline and I have a new master socket...

???

Did fitting a new master socket and filtered faceplate cure the landline noise?

Was it an OR SFI engineer who did the work and did he check your line from the test socket?
Standard User Vince730i
(newbie) Sat 30-Mar-13 22:35:57
Print Post

[re: 4M2] [link to this post]

If anything, since the new socket and filtered faceplate, its been a nightmare - and yes, an OR engineer fitted and tested my line afterwards. Oddly... Everything was fine for 9 days and I only had 2 loss of signals in that time. The rest are from the last 24 hours.
Standard User 4M2
(fountain of knowledge) Sat 30-Mar-13 22:40:16
Print Post

If anything, since the new socket and filtered faceplate, its been a nightmare - and yes, an OR engineer fitted and tested my line afterwards. Oddly... Everything was fine for 9 days and I only had 2 loss of signals in that time. The rest are from the last 24 hours.

Can you just do a quick quiet line test using a corded phone if possible - dial 17070

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User Vince730i
(newbie) Sat 30-Mar-13 22:51:24
Print Post

I don't have a corded phone, but while I was watching my router earlier while trying to reconnect to broadband, I did do a quiet line test and could quite clearly hear crackling and a varing low to high tone.
I just can't quite work out what has caused this so quickly. I've disconnected my phone for now and spend most of the evening watching the lights on my router instead.
Standard User XRaySpeX