General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User teheditor
(newbie) Fri 12-Apr-13 22:57:35
Print Post

Help The Colonies

[link to this post]

G'Day!

Australia's probable new government wants to stop our nationwide FTTH rollout and copy the UK's FTTC. Awesome frown

The comparative costs are $37bn vs $30bn.

I'm a journalist whose been trying to establish if there's anything good about doing this. If you've any thoughts on anything please let me know. But if you could help with the following questions that would be great:-

1) We have big problems with corroded copper and Outside Plant Records, whereby third-party engineers don't document what fixes they make to existing cabinets (called turrets) and some 30% of lines don't go to the places they are supposed to go to. This makes upgrading to FTTC very tricky. How much have these been issues for the UK?

2) FTTC cabinets are getting smaller but are they upgradable to FTTH? There was talk that blades could be inserted to make upgrading easier but this would be a problem in a small cabinet, wouldn't it?

3) After an initial FTTC rollout, the plan is to add Vectoring around three years later (after 2016). How viable would this be?

4) We are told that the whole country will be guaranteed 25Mb/s downloads by 2016, even though we'd have to switch from a fully planned FTTH rollout which is flying along. Does such a rollout sound viable?

5) To what extent has vandalism and theft from cabinets actually been a problem?

6) What do people get if they are told that its uneconomic to have a cabinet put in their area?

7) Does anyone in the UK still think FTTH is a waste of money?

8) Is there really a big backlash against having ugly cabinets on streets?

Any help you give would be seen by the highest levels of Australian government. The more hard evidence the better.