General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User turbodeas
(newbie) Sat 22-Jun-13 20:14:02
Print Post

First Post - Hi! and TalkTalk speed.

[link to this post]

Hi all,

This is my first post on the forum, after a little bit of lurking and searching smile

Anyway, I have just moved house and unfortunately had to give up my cracking Virgin 30Meg Unlimited service for an ADSL connection. I'm reasonably tech-savvy, (broadcast engineer by trade), so did some research as to what my line might be like, and it all looked good. I decided to go with TalkTalk Plus TV package, and was hoping to get speeds close to the 20meg mark as I'm almost next door to the exchange.

BT Wholesale (well, Kelly Group) came to install my phoneline, which all went fine, and I connected up my new Huawei HG533 router to the master socket - no problems at all.

I have already removed the Ringwire from my flat's phone system in a bid to squeeze the most out of my broadband.

So, connection looks like this:

ADSL line speed (kbps): up 695 down 14752
Line attentuation (dB): up 4.9 down 11.0
SN margin (dB): up 14.9 down 14.2

Which is fine, and totally usable - I'm sure it's a lot better than other people in the country can get!

However, the upstream especially looks very limited - I was hoping to be able to set up some sort of VPN so I can stream media from my own little NAS, but with 695kbps of upstream bandwidth it might be quite tricky. From what I have gathered, my stats look like I could get faster somehow?

What do others think? I live in a new build (5 year old) small block of flats, and my attenuation looks pretty decent....

Does Talktalk 'train' the line, and am I being impatient?

Cheers,

Turbs.
Standard User baby_frogmella
(experienced) Sat 22-Jun-13 21:18:02
Print Post

Re: First Post - Hi! and TalkTalk speed.

[re: turbodeas] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by turbodeas: