General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User javidotpro
(newbie) Thu 08-Aug-13 21:50:51
Print Post

Broadband in Coventry

[link to this post]

Hello,
I am new in Coventry (West Midlands), I come from Spain and I am Programmer, I'm going to rent a house and not that option to choose.
I know well the broadband companies in the UK but do not know which will be the most reliable connection level falls, router (though I have a Netgear WNR2000) and price of the connection.

Can you help?
Regards,
Javier.
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Thu 08-Aug-13 21:54:22
Print Post

Re: Broadband in Coventry

[re: javidotpro] [link to this post]

Exact location is everything, so you need to find out what services are available at each property you want to rent?

e.g. cable modem
Fibre to the cabinet
or the slower older ADSL2+ based services

Andrew Ferguson, andrew@thinkbroadband.com
www.thinkbroadband.com - formerly known as ADSLguide.org.uk
The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User javidotpro
(newbie) Thu 08-Aug-13 21:57:34
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]

Thanks, its CV6 1HX i can use Virgin Media, SKY, EE, TalkTalk, BT, Plusnet... check in uswitch.com

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Thu 08-Aug-13 22:02:01
Print Post

Do you need consistent latency and speeds?

Or rather have a higher speed off peak, but possibly slowing down more at peak times?

Sky is often a reasonable bet, Virgin Media can be good but varies according to what others are up to in the area.

For a 30 Mbps or faster service (will be advertised as fibre) looking at £35 a month roughly once all the bits like line rental are paid.

If you want a budget speed ADSL2+ then might get monthly cost down to the £20 to £25 area.