General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User saboo1690
(learned) Wed 19-Mar-14 11:24:36
Print Post

vpn provider

[link to this post]

Hello folks. I'm in the market for a good vpn provider. One that works through a router because I have various bits of hardware I want to go through a vpn........
I have no experience using vpn so something easy and simple would be good. Ive been looking about for a provider but cant decide so help would be greatly appreciated. .....smile
Standard User ian72
(knowledge is power) Wed 19-Mar-14 12:03:09
Print Post

Re: vpn provider

[re: saboo1690] [link to this post]

What is the purpose of the VPN as that will have a bearing on who is best to deliver it for you.
Standard User saboo1690
(learned) Wed 19-Mar-14 12:20:39
Print Post

[re: ian72] [link to this post]

Hello ian. Its for torrents and newsnet. I have a network hard drive for this. Also xbox live and I have two wd live media players.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User BatBoy
(legend) Wed 19-Mar-14 12:24:52
Print Post

I use Giganews which gives a free Golden Frog subscription

______________________________________________________________________________________False_Authority_Syndrome__________________
Standard User gmoorc
(committed) Wed 19-Mar-14 12:48:29
Print Post

Airvpn is worth a look.
They are very open about their server load so you can judge which one to connect to.
Link
They have some guides on the site for Tomato and DDWRT and you can download custom Openvpn config files.
I even managed to get it working with a Synology NAS. The problem being having to use a personal certificate as opposed to just a username and password.

This is a speedtest through one of their UK servers:
Speedtest

xilo Fibre+ BQM
Standard User ian72
(knowledge is power) Wed 19-Mar-14 13:22:49
Print Post