General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Rontom
(newbie) Fri 16-May-14 09:29:06
Print Post

ADSL2 sudden dramatic download speed increase?

[link to this post]

I've been with Talk Talk for years (up to 8Mbps package) and all of this time my download speed has been a steady 5.5 to 6. Over the last week, my download speed has started to increase, albeit erratically. I've seen it hit over 9 at times and even an amazing 15 on one test. Anyone heard of this happening or even why it is occuring? My cabinet number is 60 and my postcode is SL3 6QB. I've checked and although my exchange is fibre enabled, our cabinet apparently will not get fibre, due to a problem getting power to it. I am about 150 yards from the *old style* cabinet.

I am not technical, so please try to keep it simple wink
I would really appreciate any feedback and thanks in advance.

ps, I use the standard Talk Talk modem/router and only 1 wired ethernet connection, plus a few laptops on Wi-Fi. There is only a single phone connection and I've not changed anything.,
Standard User Ribble
(experienced) Fri 16-May-14 09:47:38
Print Post

Re: ADSL2 sudden dramatic download speed increase?

[re: Rontom] [link to this post]

Nothing to do with FTTC. Probably just upgraded from ADSL to ADSL2+
Standard User MHC
(sensei) Fri 16-May-14 09:54:18
Print Post

In reply to a post by Rontom: