General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User bbjiggy
(newbie) Wed 27-Aug-14 21:28:16
Print Post

20+ years online

[link to this post]

So it just dawned on me I've been online for over 20 years. As a network engineer by trade I thought I would share my full and detailed ISP ratings with you. wink

Dialup BBS/Fidonet Good
Demon V.32 dialup Good
BT V.34 dialup Bad
Telewest Cable Bad
Pipex ADSL Good
Tiscali ADSL Bad
Talk Talk ADSL [censored]
O2 ADSL Good
Sky ADSL [censored]
ZEN ADSL Good

I still remember my Fidonet address. Them were the days. All fields.

Jase.
Standard User B31
(regular) Thu 28-Aug-14 19:06:41
Print Post

Re: 20+ years online

[re: bbjiggy] [link to this post]

19 years for me.

Started with compuserve, plus helped setup and manage the AOL account at school/sixth form.

I can't remember all the connections I've had, but they include madasafish, NTHell, BT Broadband, Telewest, Namesco and Virgin Media.

BT ADSL customer getting 1.9 Mbps on a new road / new build development
CAB not FTTC enabled, not part of the 66% commercial plan. Not rural - no BDUK funding
(Virgin Media nearby)
Standard User Jax2
(learned) Thu 28-Aug-14 20:25:31
Print Post

[re: B31] [link to this post]

I did not realize the internet was even available twenty years ago, my exchange only became enabled in 2005, think I started in 2006.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User B31
(regular) Thu 28-Aug-14 20:37:40
Print Post

[re: Jax2] [link to this post]

Yes, it was a bit slower back then though.

I had a 28.8 Kbps modem when I first got the internet.

Checkout these pages from Microsoft, their old homepage(s):

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/discover/1994/

Microsoft Blog re 20 years

CAB not FTTC enabled, not part of the 66% commercial plan. Not rural - no BDUK funding