General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User trumpet272
(newbie) Tue 07-Oct-14 14:24:03
Print Post

Slow Fibre Versus faster satellite...

[link to this post]

Hi - I have a potential conundrum!

I have been using various Satellite BB options for 4 years now. I don't need to tell you all the pros and cons - but I've had no choice. I am miles from the nearest exchange (Burbage) at postcode SN84NT

It seems that things are on the move locally with FTTC coming to my local village (Wootten Rivers). I understand I will now be 1.2km from this CAB.

A proposed 24mb service is proposed to this cabinet, with therefore a 1.2km copper degradation - leaving me with.... maybe 7mbps, if that?

Would I be better with this, than my current, flawed, frustrating 20mbps satellite service?
Is it at all possible to have a private extension of fibre closer to my home or FTTP?

Very many thanks for your thoughts
Standard User Chrysalis
(legend) Tue 07-Oct-14 14:31:41
Print Post

Re: Slow Fibre Versus faster satellite...

[re: trumpet272] [link to this post]

satellite better for bulk downloading, iso's, movies, steam etc.

slow fibre would be better for browsing, gaming and any other latency sensitive stuff.

Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Tue 07-Oct-14 14:40:04
Print Post

I think you are misunderstanding the speeds.

If this is delivered by the local BDUK project, then the cabinet will offer up to 80 Mbps for those very close (within 200 metres) with the speed dropping to probably around 15 to 24 Mbps at a distance of 1.2km.

It would also have a low latency, that is hardly affected by the copper distance.

A private extension would involve significant amounts of money, as that 1.2km would need the fibre installing so in the £3,000 and upwards region.

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.