General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User eckiedoo
(experienced) Tue 17-Feb-15 11:54:11
Print Post

Maximum WiFi Range

[link to this post]

I am studying with FutureLearn, and on the course "Cyber Security", the question of WiFi maximum range has come up.

One of the other participants has posted this comment-
"
Not sure your are right in saying wifi has a very limited range. I have picked up a wifi signal and logged on to it from a distance of two miles. Admittedly I had an aerial but so could any hacker!
"

Apart from possible confusion such as BT FON multiple Hotspots, have any of you any experience of such long distances?
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Tue 17-Feb-15 12:09:35
Print Post

Re: Maximum WiFi Range

[re: eckiedoo] [link to this post]

With appropriate antenna yes this is possible presuming you have a clear line of sight and the output from the Wi-Fi source is sufficiently directional too.

Take a look at the various Wi-Fi kit for long distance links sold by www.solwise.co.uk

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User PaulKirby
(committed) Tue 17-Feb-15 12:11:03
Print Post

Also it helps when you have a directional antenna as well, just means that you turn the beam until you get a strong signal.

Paul

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User eckiedoo
(experienced) Tue 17-Feb-15 12:58:32
Print Post

[re: PaulKirby] [link to this post]

Thanks to both of you.

http://www.solwise.co.uk/downloads/files/linking-bui...

Section 1.3 with its table is interesting.

Although I find 5a and 5b apparently contradicting the norm.

---------------

I am trying to get more information from the other course student.