General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User boxrick
(fountain of knowledge) Wed 01-Apr-15 12:59:53
Print Post

Sharing a Leased line in apartment - Feasable?

[link to this post]

I live in Manchester City Centre and we currently we do not have high speed connectivity available in my building. This is unfortunate since there are over 100 apartments then directly next door there is a building with a further 70+ apartments. The best available connection is ADSL down a traditional PSTN line provided by BT.

I am considering the feasibility of taking up a leased line of around 1Gbit from a provider such as Virgin and then splitting this to the residents to provide high speed broadband. I know Manchester is covered by the BDUK scheme which may also help.

I am a Sysadmin and network engineer by trade so as far as the actual technology and deployment is concerned this shouldn't be a massive issue.

1) Does anyone know the laws or requirements of doing this, since in essence I would be becoming an ISP. Any resources surrounding the legalities or things like data retention would be appreciated

2) Can anyone provide me with any general guidance or advice regarding my plans ?

---------
laughMetro net 1mbit ADSLlaugh

---------
Newish comp laugh
DFI Ultra-D Nforce 4 motherboard
a64 x2 4400+ Toledo 2.2ghz @ 2.8 ghz
7800GTX 256mb
1.5 GB Crucial Ballistix PC4000 DDR RAM
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 01-Apr-15 13:19:54
Print Post

Re: Sharing a Leased line in apartment - Feasable?

[re: boxrick] [link to this post]

Your main hurdle will the leases and permission from the landlord.

Have you talked to Ask4 and Hyperoptic who both deal with ultrafast broadband in apartments.

Hyperoptic already has a number of places in the City offering their Gigabit service.