General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User messyhead
(newbie) Tue 04-Apr-17 21:47:18
Print Post

Can ISP check router settings?

[link to this post]

I'm currently experiencing an outage with SSE broadband. I was using my own TP-Link router instead of the Technicolour one they provided.

In the course of the conversation I had with them, they said I'd need to use their router so they could run some further checks. I'm sure they only wanted me to tell them which lights were on, but is there any further checks that an ISP can do against the router they provide?

I work in IT, so I suspect this was just another way for them to fob me off.
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Tue 04-Apr-17 23:35:18
Print Post

Re: Can ISP check router settings?

[re: messyhead] [link to this post]

Take a look at TR-069, remote config and management for provider supplied hardware

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User Andrue
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Wed 05-Apr-17 16:51:58
Print Post

[re: messyhead] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by messyhead:
In the course of the conversation I had with them, they said I'd need to use their router so they could run some further checks. I'm sure they only wanted me to tell them which lights were on, but is there any further checks that an ISP can do against the router they provide?
Any number of them. They can even push firmware updates.