General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User edwinbradford
(regular) Sun 07-May-17 17:56:37
Print Post

Is this the master socket

[link to this post]

I'm trying to work out whether I have a master socket or not. I don't think I do but hopefully someone can confirm for me. I have two phone sockets, both identical in appearance front and rear.

This is what the front looks like:

Front view

And this is what the reverse looks like:

Rear view

I assume that's not a master socket? Assuming it's not then can I replace it with a chrome face plate that is a master socket? For example this one on Amazon says it is a master socket https://goo.gl/iSvFce

Is it relatively easy to wire? I don't want to book a third appointment and a third day off work for Openreach. Plus Openreach will just install a bog standard white box master socket which the landlord probably won't permit anyway.

Seems like the natural solution is to do it myself if it's possible.

Advice appreciated.
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Sun 07-May-17 18:11:53
Print Post

Re: Is this the master socket

[re: edwinbradford] [link to this post]

Not a master socket, but what are you hoping to achieve?

The one you linked to may just be the same as what you have now, a master socket has support for extensions built into it.

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
(regular) Sun 07-May-17 18:21:32
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]

Thanks. I live in a studio flat with two sockets already so I don't need any extensions. My broadband keeps disconnecting. I had the same issue at my last apartment and following advice here I moved the router to the master socket and it fixed everything with a rock solid connection.