General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User peatda01
(newbie) Fri 11-Aug-17 09:41:48
Print Post

Phone issues

[link to this post]

As a complete novice I would like to ask what is probably a very simple question. As my broadband and telephone are provided down the same phone line - I am suffering from intermittent/sporadic dropping of phone calls, connection made OK but then complete loss of connection, hang up and dial again and connection made only for it to drop again sometimes.

I haven't noticed any dropping of internet connection, but cant say that it doesn't drop and then reconnect - unless I happen to be on line at the same time, I wouldn't know.

Is there any way of monitoring my connection to see if it is a line problem, such as a ping tester or is there a better way of doing it?
Dave

Many thanks
Standard User MHC
(sensei) Fri 11-Aug-17 10:21:01
Print Post

Re: Phone issues

[re: peatda01] [link to this post]

Firstly, report the voice problem to your supplier. There is likely to be a failing joint at some point. A single leg fault will affect phone colls and cause loss of service however, with ADSL/VDSL it will just cause a significant drop in speed.

At the bottom of the page there is a link to Broadband Ping Monitoring

and if yor modem/router is compatible you can download DSL Stats from http://dslstats.me.uk/ and leave that running on your PC.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

M H C

taurus excreta cerebrum vincit
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Fri 11-Aug-17 10:53:40
Print Post

[re: MHC] [link to this post]

Also the modem/router should have a connection status page and these usually tell you how long they have been connected for.

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.