Technical Discussion
  >> Linux Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User AEP
(fountain of knowledge) Fri 18-Mar-11 09:14:46
Print Post

32- and 64-Bit

[link to this post]

This is likely to be a lengthy post, so stop right now if you are not interested!

Background
In Camie's recent post a few common misconceptions about 64-bit programs have arisen so I thought it might be useful to explain my understanding of the subject. As background, I have been interested in 64-bit assembler for the past 6 or 7 years and have studied the AMD and Intel manuals quite carefully. I have a web site that details some of my research, in particular bootstrapping a processor into 64-bit (more properly "long") mode and then getting it to actually do something. This has been quite favourably received by others trying to understand these things. I am an interested amateur, not a professional.

Memory Addresses
It is a fairly obvious truism that 64-bit addresses are twice the size of 32-bit addresses. But this doesn't mean that a 64-bit program is twice the size of a 32-bit one, or uses twice the RAM. In practice very little of the data in a program consists of absolute addresses. More commonly memory is addressed via addresses stored in registers - in particular local variables to functions are stored on the stack and will be addressed via the BP register. The stack itself would (if other things were equal) be bigger, because it also contains the return address and other details, but other things aren't equal.

Data