Technical Discussion
  >> Linux Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User imbsuk
(fountain of knowledge) Sat 19-Nov-11 02:38:14
Print Post

port forwarding on Mint

[link to this post]

I thought I'd give linux mint a try, but port forwarding doesn't seem to be working. can you see me shows my ports as closed. I'm far from a techie, but I thought I could at least forward ports! I was previously using windows 7, so guess the router is set up for that. But as I understand it that shouldn't matter anyway. Any thing spring to mind? This is driving me crazy. The internal IP is the same, I checked. I'm using linux mint katya, be and TG585v7

____
be*
be* <-- on test socket!
Standard User AEP
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Sat 19-Nov-11 07:08:55
Print Post

Re: port forwarding on Mint

[re: imbsuk] [link to this post]

Nothing to do with your router. I suspect you just need to configure the firewall on Mint to allow those por ts through.

Edit: Forgot to add - of course, you need some program to be listening on those ports! Which ports are you forwarding?

Edited by AEP (Sat 19-Nov-11 07:11:22)

Standard User mixt
(experienced) Sat 19-Nov-11 07:18:26
Print Post

Make sure iptables chains are flushed, and any iptables (firewalling) services are not set to run at start up.

CentOS does this by default and it catches me out nearly every time, before I finally realise I need to disable it all. I can see why they enable it by default though - they effectively lock the machine down so nothing external can connect to it, which from a security aspect, is the sensible thing to do for an initial install.

Now on <aaisp.net>
Previous ISPs: Virgin Media (50Mb/Cable), Be* Un Limited, ZeN
Is Linux routing your internet connection?
Need to make BIND geo-aware?

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User imbsuk
(fountain of knowledge) Sat 19-Nov-11 22:31:46
Print Post

[re: mixt] [link to this post]