Technical Discussion
  >> Linux Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Anonymous
(Unregistered)Thu 09-Feb-12 15:28:16
Print Post

Toshiba NB100-11R

[link to this post]

I am new to linux and trying out MINT. A mate has given me his old Toshiba NB100-11R which has Ubuntu 8.04.1. I have a few questions if someone can help me out.

1. Is is possible to download and install MINT on it instead of the Ubuntu 8.04.1currently installed.

2. Upgrade to the current version of Ubuntu.

3. And if I did either will I have problems with the divers for the integrated webcam etc.

Thank you.
Standard User micksharpe
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Thu 09-Feb-12 15:44:41
Print Post

Re: Toshiba NB100-11R

[re: Anonymous] [link to this post]

If there's nothing on the Tosh box that you want, why not download both distros and try them out. It doesn't take long to install Linux and I think they both support "live" versions (i.e. run from DVD.)

If the Tosh box is fairly old, you may need to go for one of the "alternative" Ubuntu distros such as KDE, LXDE or XFCE since the graphics card may not have enough juice to run the standard Ubuntu distro (which uses Gnome.)

______________________________________________________________________________________________
‘Life would be so wonderful if only we knew what to do with it.’ - Greta Garbo
It Ought to be Easy | Greasemonkey scripts
Standard User john2007
(legend) Thu 09-Feb-12 15:46:08
Print Post

Assuming that the laptop has a CD drive I suggest you download live CDs for the distributions you are interested in. You can then boot from the live CD and check that the hardware is detected and enabled. If you are happy you can then install the desired distribution from the live CD.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Anonymous
(Unregistered)Thu 09-Feb-12 15:55:59
Print Post

[re: john2007] [link to this post]

It is a netbook.