Technical Discussion
  >> Linux Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User smiffy12
(experienced) Tue 20-May-14 10:53:47
Print Post

Linux? Any Recommendations for this please?

[link to this post]

Hi,

I've never tried Linux before and think I should at least have a stab at it.

I've a netbook that runs XP. No use with XP anymore so thought I'd ask here what flavour of Linux might be best for a beginner and for the netbook I have which isn't particularly high spec smile

The netbook is Intel Atom processor N270 1.6ghz, 1.5 GB DDR 2 RAM, has a hard drive that's a printed circuit board and is 15.0GB. The machine is an Acer Aspire One if that helps any.

Thank you for any advice you might be able to offer smile
Standard User micksharpe
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Tue 20-May-14 13:07:29
Print Post

Re: Linux? Any Recommendations for this please?

[re: smiffy12] [link to this post]

Ubuntu is always a good place to start. Use the desktop edition--this is advertised as being suitable for netbooks. The old netbook edition is no longer supported. You don't have to install it on your hard drive straight away. You can create a bootable USB stick just to play around with. This is true of most Linux distributions.

P.S. The standard Ubuntu distribution comes with the Unity desktop (window manager) which not everyone likes and can be resource-intensive. There are other flavours of Ubuntu that use different desktops. Xubuntu, which uses XFCE, is particularly nice imo and easy on resources.

'Sir, please,' she said... 'Will you not share your wisdom with us?'
'I have no wisdom,' he told her.
'Your experiences, then?'
'They have been trivial, uninteresting, and full of error.'
Ian M. Banks--Feersum Endjinn

Edited by micksharpe (Tue 20-May-14 13:49:39)

Standard User Zodiac
(committed) Fri 23-May-14 15:09:55
Print Post

I have been trying out this one.