Technical Discussion
  >> Apple Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User aramsay
(member) Mon 06-Dec-10 10:20:37
Print Post

Sophos Anti Virus - free for home users

[link to this post]

Not sure if it's been mentioned here before, but Sophos Anti Virus is now free on the Mac for home use.
Sophos download site

The UK-based firm sees the freebie Mac scanner as a medium-term commitment, even though the product is not there to make money, and it will cost Sophos to run a dedicated support forum and field queries. Unlike freemium scanner outfits such as AVG there are no plans to convert users onto paid-for consumer versions of Sophos Anti-Virus for Mac.

Might be worth considering if you are looking for a virus protection software (I've been using the corporate version for a few years now, with no problems).
Standard User ian_c
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Mon 06-Dec-10 10:25:24
Print Post

Re: Sophos Anti Virus - free for home users

[re: aramsay] [link to this post]

Or not.

Standard User AEP
(experienced) Mon 06-Dec-10 10:30:41
Print Post

Thanks very much for the heads-up. Too many Mac users are blindly complacent about the possibility of malware; they would be well advised to take advantage of this offer.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User ian_c
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Mon 06-Dec-10 10:37:49
Print Post

[re: AEP] [link to this post]

But many more of us are even more aware that commercial solutions invariably make the matter worse.

Anyone with genuine concerns would be better served downloading ClamXav, which has the massive advantage that it is not baitware to lure users into an expensive and pointless "solution".

And to the OP: can you confirm that you are not and never have been connected with Sophos?

Standard User AEP
(experienced) Mon 06-Dec-10 10:53:33
Print Post

[re: ian_c] [link to this post]