Technical Discussion
  >> Apple Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User time2die
(knowledge is power) Tue 31-Jul-12 23:55:50
Print Post

Advice Apple Imac 27inch bought mid 2011 best buy

[link to this post]

Hi everyone

A question about ram and how easy is it to replace or add more to this Apple Imac 27inch,currently has 4 gig of 2x2 of 1333mhz ddr3 memory with 2 further slots.......

What are my options and what can i use in terms of memory,does this mean i can only total 8 gig or could i get 4x4 gig or what.

Ebay is full of the stuff but I'm not that technical and there is no way i am paying Apple prices for Ram of them,any suggestions and links gratefully appreciated.

Would i see a massive difference if i could put 16 gig of ram in this machine,or am i stuck with just 8 and where is the best place to buy it apart from ebay.

This is what the Imac says regarding memory.
Your Mac contains 4 memory slots, each of which accepts
a 1333 MHz DDR3 memory module.

Edited by time2die (Tue 31-Jul-12 23:58:30)

Standard User uno
(fountain of knowledge) Wed 01-Aug-12 00:12:06
Print Post

Re: Advice Apple Imac 27inch bought mid 2011 best buy

[re: time2die] [link to this post]

We've got a few of these in our office, most with 12GB.

2 x 2GB
2 x 4GB

Maximum as per Apple docs is 16GB (4 x 4GB).

Matt

uno Broadband
t: 0808 221 8642
Official Maidenhead, Milton Keynes & Manchester Speedtest.net Host
Standard User Basenji
(fountain of knowledge) Wed 01-Aug-12 00:31:40
Print Post

In reply to a post by time2die:
Hi everyone

A question about ram and how easy is it to replace or add more to this Apple Imac 27inch,currently has 4 gig of 2x2 of 1333mhz ddr3 memory with 2 further slots.......

What are my options and what can i use in terms of memory,does this mean i can only total 8 gig or could i get 4x4 gig or what.