Technical Discussion
  >> Apple Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Oskar_DiLondra
(newbie) Sun 21-Aug-16 00:00:00
Print Post

Issues on Macbook Pro with a TalkTalk router

[link to this post]

Hi, completely new to any of this, but my internet connection is becoming rather infuriating, as it occasionally just stops and starts again, which normally would be fine, but as I game quite a bit online, disconnecting is not something I enjoy experiencing, here are the details:

- It happens at any time, not linked to any specific period or a trigger.
- It happens on some devices and not others, which makes me think it's more of a computer issue than a router/ broadband one. (e.g. My laptop will disconnect but my iPhone won't, but it does happen to different devices)
- The "Internet" and "WLAN" lights on my TalkTalk router are almost constantly flashing.
- Live in Stratford-upon-avon
- I have a two-connection master Socket, except the Broadband connection is labelled BT, does that mean that a BT router is more likely to work with the socket?
- I think it tends to be later at night, but that may just be because I am gaming / on the computer more at that time.

Thank you so much for any help you can give me,
Oskar
Standard User micksharpe
(legend) Sun 21-Aug-16 00:26:14
Print Post

Re: Issues on Macbook Pro with a TalkTalk router

[re: Oskar_DiLondra] [link to this post]

The first thing that you need to establish is who and what is using your Internet connection. Can you find a page on your router configuration menu that shows connected devices? Please note that I know nothing about TalkTalk routers (or Apple kit for that matter).

Edit: Assuming you're with TalkTalk, you can use any modem/router that you like but the one that you have may well be fine.

Edited by micksharpe (Sun 21-Aug-16 00:36:58)

(newbie) Sun 21-Aug-16 00:38:10
Print Post

[re: micksharpe] [link to this post]

I don't know much either XD