General Discussion
  >> Mobile Broadband (3G, 4G etc)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User marrllinz
(newbie) Mon 24-Aug-09 23:22:22
Print Post

I can receive but I cannot send email using 3 mbb

[link to this post]

Hi everyone, I am a newbie to this site so please bear with me.

I have a MacBook Pro using a '3' mobile broadband dongle and using Apple Mail and Microsoft Entourage for email. I have 4 accounts with Apple Mail and 4 accounts with Entrourage. All my accounts are working fine with Entourage being able to send and receive using the 3 smtp settings. With Apple Mail however, 2 of the four accounts can send and receive and two cannot. The two accounts which are working perfectly well are using the ISP smtp settings, and for the two which are not able to send I have tried both the ISP's smtp settings as well as 3's smtp settings. I have also been through all of the port settings as highlighted by information on three's website as well as on this site.

Is there any one else out there experiencing the same issues and or have a fix or am I alone on this one.

Please help!
Standard User XRaySpeX
(committed) Mon 24-Aug-09 23:51:49
Print Post

Re: I can receive but I cannot send email using 3 mbb

[re: marrllinz] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by marrllinz:
for the two which are not able to send I have tried both the ISP's smtp settings as well as 3's smtp settings.
What do you mean both "the ISP's" and "3's" SMTP settings?

As you are using 3's mobile dongle, Isn't 3 your ISP?

Ofter you must use the SMTP server of whichever ISP you used to connect at that time, regardless of which mail client you are using.

1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg BB
Standard User marrllinz
(newbie) Tue 25-Aug-09 08:43:43
Print Post

[re: XRaySpeX] [link to this post]

Hi XRaySpeX,