General Discussion
  >> Mobile Broadband (3G, 4G etc)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User deepdishdj
(newbie) Mon 10-Dec-12 19:46:35
Print Post

Huawei E5331 is it any good?

[link to this post]

Hello all I am new to mobile broadband.

As the title suggests I have ordered an unlocked Huawei E5331 and was wondering if anybody has any real world experience with it. I will be using it for 2 things, basic surfing and the most important which is xbox live. I know its not an ideal product for live but is all I have got until the useless openreach techs connect my new phone line so I can get adsl.

I have orderd a pre pay sim from 3, 02 and my wife already has a virgin sim which I think is tmobile/orange network. The area where I live has full 3g coverage for all networks and o2 has 3g900 in my area which i believe is the best data connection they have to offer.

So I was wondering If anybody could give me a rough idea of what to expect in the ways of pings and download speeds. I know many factors come into play when using mobile networks but any advice or ideas would be much appreciated.
Standard User cookmysocks
(newbie) Thu 03-Jan-13 19:28:50
Print Post

Re: Huawei E5331 is it any good?

[re: deepdishdj] [link to this post]

the 3 e5331 modem is actually really good!

I've only ever used it on the 3 network, and it works well for me. Its compact, battery is not too bad and its really cheap, I got it for £43 from ksn.

ive tried o2 mobile broadband and it was never as fast as 3 network, but that was via a dongle vs this e5331 mifi.

Use the 3 online coverage checker, if you have reception in your area, then you cant go wrong IMO.
Standard User Estyle
(newbie) Wed 16-Jan-13 15:50:27
Print Post