General Discussion
  >> Mobile Broadband (3G, 4G etc)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Nosferatu_UK
(newbie) Fri 15-May-15 12:27:27
Print Post

Three all you can eat 4G but has a catch

[link to this post]

Afternoon all,

I am really new to the 3G/4G broadband internet, but I have moved to a farm residents and have since lost my fibre broadband, as it's not available in my area and normal broadband is worse than a 56k modem ;D (remember them?)

Anywho.. I was looking into getting a home wifi setup that will allow my family to connect to a router as standard and then a 3G/4G USB Modem to plug into the TP-Link 3G/4G router.

Is this a viable setup? is there a cheaper way or better way?

Also,

For data allowance many companies are no longer doing unlimited data contracts but the only one I have seen is Three's website offering in the sim only deals an "all you can eat" data contract for £17 month for mobile phone sim only (cheap 24 month contract). BUT (as always theres a BUT) When I choose mobile broadband sim the price is higher and the data is capped? I was looking at their tariffs and they state that some all you can eat sim offer a 4GB allowance for use as a personal hotspot.
So my question is. If I bought a £17 phone sim contract and put it into the USB modem and had that in my router. Will THEY know its being used as a wifi established internet connection for multiple computers (and incure charges) or is a connection just a connection and wouldn't make a difference? If so how'd they know that my mobile phone has been turned into a wifi hotspot and got more than one device connected, in order for it to be restricted as a 4GB data allowance?
Standard User David_W
(fountain of knowledge) Fri 15-May-15 14:17:05
Print Post

Re: Three all you can eat 4G but has a catch

[re: Nosferatu_UK] [link to this post]