Technical Discussion
  >> Home Networking, Internet Connection Sharing, etc.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User byrne90
(newbie) Thu 06-Jan-11 22:11:20
Print Post

Internet in garage far from router : Help :

[link to this post]

Hi,

I am new to this and do not know much technical knowledge regarding this subject so bare with me please.

I live in the UK and have recently converted a garage into a room which is not connected to my house. In the converted garage I have the latest Apple iMac with "802.11 a/b/g/n" Airport capabilities.

The problem I am having is getting internet on my computer at that long distance. (around 20 feet atleast plus through three walls). I have upgraded my router with o2 to the new 'N' router to try to get a stronger signal but it actually seems worse? I am getting no signal at all...

When i do get a signal, rarely, I am able to play games on the mac, compose and send emails but the internet is frustratingly slow at times. I mean an hour to load google homepage. I am told this is due to losing and gaining signal being so far away but I am unsure which is what bring me to here.

basically what I want is some way of getting broadband to my garage without a ghastly cable floating from the house to the garage. I cant go undergroudf as I have jut had my drive done so i guess wireless signals are all I have to go on. I want something that will work as it has been 5 months now and is really taking its toll on me.

please anymore information dont hesitate to ask!

Appreciate any reply and thank you for your time.

Regards,

Justin.

DIAGRAM OF HOUSE

I have included a brief diagram of my predicament to show you what I mean....
Standard User Rockh
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Thu 06-Jan-11 22:15:02
Print Post

Re: Internet in garage far from router : Help :

[re: byrne90] [link to this post]