Technical Discussion
  >> Home Networking, Internet Connection Sharing, etc.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Ramakin
(newbie) Wed 22-Feb-12 11:04:30
Print Post

Load Balancing Router/Modems

[link to this post]

Hi,

I am fairly new to all this but I am just about to have a second line installed with BT Business BB on it and I have an Orange BB connection on the other line. I am considering changing the Orange BB line to another BT Business line but what I would really like to do is have a single Modem/wireless router that can connect to both ADSL lines and then load balance them.

Does anyone know of a router that will offer this functionality at an affordable rate?

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Ramakin (Wed 22-Feb-12 11:06:41)

Standard User mixt
(experienced) Wed 22-Feb-12 11:20:08
Print Post

Re: Load Balancing Router/Modems

[re: Ramakin] [link to this post]

http://www.draytek.co.uk/products/vigor2820.html

The Vigor 2820 will do a back up service, but not load-balancing (and also, upon reading, that back-up service is only an ethernet port so still requires another separate ADSL modem on the backup line).

http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop/ShopDetail.asp?...

This one looks more promising, with 4 load balancing WAN ports. More what you are seeking, I suspect.

Now on <aaisp.net> (21CN+IPv6)
Previous ISPs: Virgin Media (50Mb/Cable), Be* Un Limited, ZeN
Is Linux routing your internet connection?
Need to make BIND geo-aware?
Standard User john2007
(legend) Wed 22-Feb-12 11:22:28
Print Post

None.

If you want two hardware devices (routers/modems) to treat the other end of the connection (big download, say, BBC iPlayer Panorama) you will need special equipment at your ISP to merge the streams.

What are you wishing to achieve?

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User ionic
(fountain of knowledge) Wed 22-Feb-12 11:27:31
Print Post