Technical Discussion
  >> Home Networking, Internet Connection Sharing, etc.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User jnd
(newbie) Wed 01-Aug-12 11:17:12
Print Post

Issue with BT Mastersocket and extensions. Newbie help!

[link to this post]

Hi.

Complete novice with this so hope someone can help.

Moved into a newish house and couldn't get my BB to sync. ADSL kept flashing. Connected straight into master test socket and it's fine. So I checked the back of the socket for the connections and it looks ok. 2 has blue/white, 5 has white/blue and 3 has orange/white. However, the cable with those 3 wires has green/white connected straight to a separate orange wire and white/green to a white. From looking at wiring diags I know that usually these are the incoming BT cable colours so I checked what is going to the master itself and it is a white and a blue wire. I'm very confused and hopefully someone can help me understand why I can't get my ADSL to sync from an extension.

Thanks in advance.
Standard User MHC
(legend) Wed 01-Aug-12 11:49:02
Print Post

Re: Issue with BT Mastersocket and extensions. Newbie help!

[re: jnd] [link to this post]

Any idea where those other wires go to?

Are the Orange & White part of the incoming cable where Green and Black feeds the master?

Some pictures of the master and wire, along with any extensions would be useful.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

M H C

taurus excreta cerebrum vincit
Standard User jnd
(newbie) Wed 01-Aug-12 12:19:12
Print Post

[re: MHC] [link to this post]

Hi.

I'll check where they come from and report back. Will also check one of the extensions

Thanks

Pic 1

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User MHC
(legend) Wed 01-Aug-12 12:48:20
Print Post

[re: jnd] [link to this post]

You definitely need to find out where all of those cables run.