Technical Discussion
  >> Home Networking, Internet Connection Sharing, etc.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User fitzy89
(newbie) Wed 21-Nov-12 01:04:43
Print Post

Are BT obliged to repair/replace outdated phone lines?

[link to this post]

I'm an IT tech, today I Was called out to a customer with "broadband issues", that wasn't the half of it...

She lives in a listed building which was probably built in the 50s if not before, it's old to put it that way. All the wiring of every type in the house is old, degraded and in a pretty dangerous condition, bits have been patched up or added to over the years, but in general most wiring in the house needs to be replaced.

She has recently signed up for BT Total Broadband, around a month ago, and has been unable to get it going. So I went out and had a look, connections were all fine (even the filters in the correct places on extensions, I don't see that often!). She advised me that the main socket (or so she thought) was in her kitchen. So I took the faceplate off and had a look at the wiring, it was very old, the type where the wires are individual colours like red/yellow/black etc, not the more modern striped ones. As I had never looked at phone wiring this old before, I gave it my best shot looking at pictures from google images to try and get it right. I managed to solve the crackling on the phone line so there's one positive thing to come out of it all.