Technical Discussion
  >> Home Networking, Internet Connection Sharing, etc.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User time2die
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Mon 27-May-13 15:49:03
Print Post

Nass Units ,Someone explain.?

[link to this post]

Hi All

I'm not that technical I just get by but love my gadgets and multimedia devices,my office set up at present is a 27 inch Apple IMac and a Iomega external 500 gig hardrive which I generally use for my music/films and backing up time machine.

Now in the last few weeks we purchased a Play 5 Sonos system which I think is a brilliant piece of wireless music streaming,however what I don't like is the fact I have to have the IMac powered on all the time for this Sonos to stream which is a pain in the backside everytime I want to use the Sonos app on my iPhone and ipad.

Research suggested a Nass system was the way to go and these vary from a few hundred to many thousands of pounds,synology ones tend to be some of the most popular but on the Sonos forums many suggest one of These
of which I have ordered from ebuyer.

Apparently the IMac is no longer required to be on as this plugs into my Netgear router,my question is simple,do I have to put all the iTunes stuff on this Nass drive and the Sonos program on my IMac as I'ts unclear to me how all this Nass stuff actually works.

I have the Internet to ask the question I know but I thought someone on here may be able to give quick and simple guidelines as to what I need to do once this unit arrives Wednesday.

I am hearing I will still need the old external Iomega hardrive as I have heard that in most cases the Nass will not back up time machine.

So basically I need some simple answers on how to get this Nass unit working with the Sonos system and what other benefits this Nass system can serve.