Technical Discussion
  >> Home Networking, Internet Connection Sharing, etc.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User flipflop1970
(newbie) Wed 22-Oct-14 19:59:45
Print Post

2 Separate Networks Using One Fibre Broadband Connection

[link to this post]

Good evening folks,
I've tried searching the forums for a solution, but had no luck.
As the title suggests, I want to run 2 separate networks using 2 individual wireless routers but sharing a single fibre optic connection.

My ISP is TalkTalk and I currently have 2 Huawei HG533 routers (1 in use and 1 unused still in the box) and have also recently been sent the new Huawei HG635.

Now, although I'm not a total newbie to networking, I am a little out of my depth here.
What I am trying to achieve is 2 totally separate networks but I do have 1 pc that I would like to have access to on both networks (If that is possible)
The reason for the separate networks is that I want to keep mine and my partners devices on 1 dedicated network and the kids and any guest devices on another. I would also like to give internet priority to me and my partner, as the kids devices can sometimes slow our connection down.
The pc that I mentioned earlier that I would like access to both networks is essentially being used as a media storage and back up device which is accessed by all of us.

I understand that each router will have different SSIDs and IP addresses and be on different channels, but how do I go about achieving what I want? A while ago, somebody did mention that I could do this with 3 routers, 1 being used as a switch, and the other 2 connected via LAN ports to the 1st router, but I still wouldn't know where to start.
I hope I have been clear with my question and hope somebody can help, many thanks in advance.
Standard User B31
(regular) Wed 22-Oct-14 20:07:05
Print Post

Re: 2 Separate Networks Using One Fibre Broadband Connection