Technical Discussion
  >> Home Networking, Internet Connection Sharing, etc.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Bentos
(newbie) Wed 08-Jun-16 17:16:19
Print Post

How do i change my router?

[link to this post]

Hi all,
Sorry if this has been asked a thousand times already...

My parents have just taken a contract with the Post office and the wireless signal is pretty pathetic. It was fine with BT so based on that evidence alone, I guess it is probably an inferior hub. (Post Office Was Cheap!)

Is there a step by step instruction that will enable me to install a router such as a Linksys for example. I am a complete amateur so I guess there will be a plethora of passwords and settings, although I am hoping it is much simpler than my imagination.

Edited by Bentos (Wed 08-Jun-16 17:16:58)

Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 08-Jun-16 18:12:24
Print Post

Re: How do i change my router?

[re: Bentos] [link to this post]

The simplest route is to continue using the Post Office device and add a wireless access point, which as on the end of a cable can be placed for better coverage of the home would suggest Netgear WN-604 £39.99 on Amazon, there are cheaper options with similar wireless speeds available but the Netgear ranges generally have a simple web interface for setting up.

If you want full 802.11ac dual-band then devices are available, but as Post Office is an up to 8 Mbps service, figured not worth the extra money usually. A Netgear example with dual-band Netgear 802.11ac wireless access point £69.99

The advantage of using an access point too is if you have broadband problems and phone up to report a fault you still have their supplied kit in place for any diagnostics.

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User Bentos
(newbie) Thu 09-Jun-16 08:58:27
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]