General Discussion
  >> Broadband Not-spots & slow-spots

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User smtkelly
(experienced) Thu 14-Apr-11 14:43:01
Print Post

Not spot options - Frome, Somerset

[link to this post]

We're thinking of moving from London where i have been enjoying 21meg connection for the past 4 years (i live within a few hundred meters of the exchange). The property I have found is just outside of Frome BA11 5DP

However is seems its in a broadband black spot (much like the rest of rural Somerset). The internet is a huge part of our lives everything from work, games, tv, films keeping in contact with family etc. So ideally it needs to be fast and it needs to have good latency.

What would i have to do to get 18mb+ to my property and what would be the cost? I don't mind paying for it even if its a lot after all the house was much cheaper that its London equivalent.

I noticed there is also broadband campaign site connectingsomerset.co.uk but they are light on details and results. It seems like a pr smoke screen imo

------------------------------------------------------------
BE* Bandwidth (Up/Down): 1.122/21.000
>20m from exchange as the crow flys
Standard User RSTSGeek
(regular) Thu 14-Apr-11 18:11:06
Print Post

Re: Not spot options - Frome, Somerset

[re: smtkelly] [link to this post]

Did you try running your phone number and postcode through the checker
on the Samknows site (Samknows Broadband Checker) ?

Using just the post code brings up VirginMedia Cable.
(Not knowing your phone number, of course, this may not be an option.)

- Alex
Standard User smtkelly
(experienced) Thu 14-Apr-11 18:57:46
Print Post

[re: RSTSGeek] [link to this post]

I did run the current owners number and only thing that came back was ADSLmax. When I viewed the property he said I would be lucky to get 4megs :/

I'm thinking my options are;
Line bonding (cheaper)