General Discussion
  >> Broadband Not-spots & slow-spots

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User kevinrennie
(newbie) Thu 24-Jan-13 21:35:56
Print Post

Desperately seeking broadband

[link to this post]

Hi - I am a newbie looking for help. I see others have had similar problems, but I have not seen posts about a solution. About a month ago my broadband with EE / Orange went from a stable 5meg downstream to a very unstable and usually less than 0.3meg downstream. I have had EE / Orange first and second line support look at it and an engineer out who has tested the line and says it is delivering 7meg to my brightbox. He's tested the line and says it is fine. I have had a new router from EE, replaced all the cables and done everything they have asked. They don't know where to go and neither do I, other than trying to switch providers which I am minded to do in desperation. Any suggestions before switching would be most welcome.

Here are my router stats:

Broadband Type: ADSL
Broadband State: Connected
Internet State: Connected
Downstream Rate: 7072kbps
Upstream Rate: 448kbps

These stats are stable, but when I do a speed test / surf I get a very erratic response - usually 0.3 meg or less downstream and next to nothing upstream and just sometimes 5meg appears for a tantalising few minutes. There is no pattern for why I get the brief surge in performance. Mostly, over the last month it has been consistently terrible. Most frustrating.

Thanks all.

K
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Thu 24-Jan-13 21:41:02
Print Post

Re: Desperately seeking broadband

[re: kevinrennie] [link to this post]

What does www.speedtester.bt.com show for the service, and are speeds better for example in the morning 8am to 2pm