General Discussion
  >> Broadband Not-spots & slow-spots

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Livebox
(learned) Sun 19-Jan-14 16:36:41
Print Post

Options other than ADSL in rural area

[link to this post]

We get a max of 2.3mpbs from our ADSL line. I would like faster speeds as I am a website developer, and I could do with not only a better download speed but also a better upload, currently we only have 0.3mbps upload. The options appear to be:

Satellite Broadband: 20mb down and 6mb up but data usage is expensive, ping is 500-600ms also I would imagine contention is quite high on this kind of connection?

Bonded ADSL: Ties two or more ADSL lines together to behave as one connection, but is alot more expensive than other options.

3G or 4G router. I have a 3G mobile phone that I have run tests on and although sometimes you can get 3mbps or higher it is very erratic and often cuts out altogether. We are about half a mile outside of EE's official 4G network map, and given that they are often pretty optimistic with their coverage maps I would imagine a 4G signal would not be any faster than the currently available 3G.

2 questions, firstly what is contention like on a satellite connection, and also If I got a 3G/4G router with a decent external antenna what speeds might I see from this compared to a mobile phone which presumably has a fairly space concious antenna design.
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Sun 19-Jan-14 22:36:41
Print Post

Re: Options other than ADSL in rural area

[re: Livebox] [link to this post]

Have you checked what is likely to happen in your area with the BDUK projects?

Satellite contention can be an issue, and those without issues tend to be those with low usage allowances.