General Discussion
  >> Broadband Not-spots & slow-spots

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User woodynet
(newbie) Tue 17-May-16 16:30:39
Print Post

Rural move, ADSL but with FTTC nearby.

[link to this post]

Hi TBB forum users.

Im looking at moving in the very near future and have found a place i like but the rural area means a huge downgrade in internet speeds.

Where i currently live I have been enjoying FTTC for around 3 years with the full 80/20 speed. Before that i had a stable 16mbps on ADSL2+ for years, good ADSL before that and good old dial up before that. So going back to a potential 2-3Mbps at best is a tough choice to make.

The area is Binton, Stratford upon Avon and is served by Welford on Avon Exchange (CMWEL) 2 or 2.5 miles away depending which road you travel by The exchange has Fibre and FTTC cabs are being installed in the welford area currently. For those outside the area connected to CMWEL only ADSL and ADSL MAX are availiable. Speed estimates from the address checker are saying a scary 1 - 3.5 mbps !.
Looks like Binton is planned for superfast according to the local authority info website - http://www.cswbroadband.org.uk/your-area/broadband-c...

The area level is maked as 'Phases now in progress', Property level is showing 'NGA Planned or availiable' for the specific property im looking at. So theres some hope i guess.

My question.
Is it realistic to expect FTTC/FTTP to come to the area in the next 2-3 years or so based on the map in the CSWBB link above?
Please dust of your crystal ball guys and girls and share your thoughts. Thanks in advance.

Edited by woodynet (Tue 17-May-16 16:38:04)

Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 18-May-16 10:04:29
Print Post

Re: Rural move, ADSL but with FTTC nearby.

[re: woodynet] [link to this post]