General Discussion
  >> Other Broadband Technologies

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User rabox
(newbie) Mon 05-Oct-15 19:49:10
Print Post

Problem with Rx SNR (Satelite - tooway)

[link to this post]

Hi,
I have been using a satelite-connection ( tooway, viasat) for several months now. In the countryside in Portugal, where I am living, there is no other possibility to get internet. No cable, no G3 oder G4 is available. So I depend a lot on my connection. wink

During the summertime everything was perfect. I had a Rx SNR much more than 10, and 10 so I was told, ist the minimum for starting the connection.

During the last days the rain period started and the quality of the signal is much lower. The speed is OK, i dont complain about that. But the Rx SNR is sometimes 2, 3 or 4 - I even realised less during heavy rain.

My concern is, that I will be kicked out of the contract if my Rx SNR stays constantly under 10. Some time ago i phoned to a technician (asking for other things) and he told me, that my Rx SNR should be constantly over 10. Otherwise I will get troubles...

Does anybody know more about that?

Thanks a lot!
Raphael
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Mon 05-Oct-15 19:55:39
Print Post

Re: Problem with Rx SNR (Satelite - tooway)

[re: rabox] [link to this post]

Satellite services can be affected by rain, solution is usually a large dish and checking the alignment has not shifted off the optimal location.

If there is any obstruction close to the line of sight e.g. tree/bush then it will have a worse effect when its wet, so for trees consider getting tree height lowered or moving the dish to a better location

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User rabox
(newbie) Mon 05-Oct-15 20:02:29
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]

Hi MrSaffron,