General Discussion
  >> Other Broadband Technologies

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User TomStokeMan
(newbie) Thu 05-May-16 12:29:41
Print Post

Satellite Speed checks

[link to this post]

Ok Newbie here so don't be harsh smile We recently installed an Avanti broadband system with headline speeds of 15/2 and it doesn't feel anything like. Here is my issue, when we run speed tests on the Avanti portal the speed looks quite good, in the areas of 10/1 but when we run the speed test anywhere else on generic speed tests it reads more like it feels . sub 2Mbps.
When I have asked why this is the supplier says its to do with the "turbo" and latency not being recognised on the generic speed checker. OK, I understand latency and I understand the accelerators the platform uses in the hope to make the internet over satellite feel usable. BUT IT ISN'T IT IS A BAD USER EXPERIENCE. What I now don't understand is I have a friend on the tooway platform and when ever we run speed tests on this platform on thier speed test or the genric they read identical??? Doesn't tooway on the KA band employ the same accelerator systems.. I believe they do. Any Advice? Is Avanti doing a VW??Not providing real speed test results. I am later today going to trial some real FTP and time it ! Let me know your thoughts and Thanks
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Thu 05-May-16 13:11:18
Print Post

Re: Satellite Speed checks

[re: TomStokeMan] [link to this post]

Without having their speed test to dissect hard to say, can you post a link to a test done via http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest and also https://labs.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest

The second forces things over SSL so should be a better end to end test, since it should be encrypted between browser and our server.