User comments on ISPs
  >> PlusNet plc

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User think26872
(committed) Fri 18-Jan-13 10:54:32
Print Post

Prospective New User Questions?

[link to this post]

Once FTTC is available to me (hopefully soon now) I am considering signing up to Plus.net. Reading the forums I have the following queries?

1. Some users are reporting it takes time for Plus.net to recognise a new connection once the router is plugged in. This means Openreach do not wait when they do the install. Does this mean I can't use my own router as Plus.net routers does something special?

2. To get the best deal you need to sign up with line rental what disadvantages does this have moving away from BT?

3. A self install option would be great - difficult to arrange being in during the day. I have an original BT ADSL master filter and the modem would connect to this - straightforward setup. Are there any realistic chances of self install becoming available soon?

Thanks
Standard User Bright
(regular) Fri 18-Jan-13 11:35:21
Print Post

Re: Prospective New User Questions?

[re: think26872] [link to this post]

I can only speak from my experience of the fibre upgrade process...
In reply to a post by think26872:
1. Some users are reporting it takes time for Plus.net to recognise a new connection once the router is plugged in. This means Openreach do not wait when they do the install. Does this mean I can't use my own router as Plus.net routers does something special?

In my case the Openreach contractor didn't want to hang around while the PlusNet router got itself set up. I was very unimpressed by his whole attitude. You might be lucky to get a more conscientious engineer (maybe even a genuine BTOR one).