Technical Discussion
  >> Security Related Issues


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.


Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User ARD
(knowledge is power) Mon 04-Jan-10 09:24:18
Print Post

Watch out for "Adobe" email


[link to this post]
 
I've just downloaded the following message, which does not appear to come from Adobe:

Dear valued customers,

Adobe PDF is pleased to announce new version for PDF Reader which enable you to view, create, edit and print PDF documents. The PDF format as a global exchange document format is created by Adobe and is the most efficient way to exchange information. You can simply follow the following instructions to make your PDF Reader/Writer most updated.
1. Visit Abode PDF website or click this link: http://www [removed]


2. Download new version of Adobe PDF and get your application updated.

Thank you for choosing us, the worldwide leader PDF Reader.

Adobe PDF

Stay safe in 2010!

______________________________________
IDNet

Sync: 8128 / 832 kbps
IP Profile 7150 kbps
SNR Margin: 17.0-12.5 dB
Line Attenuation: 20.0 dB
SpeedTouch 585

I am approximately 930 metres from the exchange (straight line distance)
Standard User Xris
(fountain of knowledge) Mon 04-Jan-10 13:27:06
Print Post

Re: Watch out for "Adobe" email


[re: ARD] [link to this post]
 
Thanks, but....

Is it just me? I can see several grammatical errors and idiomatic funnies in that text which immediately set off alarm bells.

"valued customers" is always a dead giveaway. The spammers don't know your name....

I screen all my email via MailWasher. This makes it simple to spot email which doesn't actually come from where it claims to come from - assuming that MailWasher's DNSBL lookup hasn't already tagged the message as spam. wink

______________________________________________________________________
http://www.vfast.co.uk/ - 10/2 Mbps via fixed-link wireless
Standard User Kenneth
(legend) Mon 04-Jan-10 13:51:44
Print Post

Re: Watch out for "Adobe" email


[re: ARD] [link to this post]
 
just got a copy so seems to have got past block lists/spam assassin checks - reported as spam

Ken

When arguing with a fool, pause and ponder - are they also arguing with a fool


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User v105
(newbie) Sun 10-Jan-10 17:36:40
Print Post

Re: Watch out for "Adobe" email


[re: ARD] [link to this post]
 
Adobe has an auto-update feature so why are you even looking at what you know are fake emails.

I think you need a course in how to use your common sense. The rest of us would delete such emails, together with all the lottery wins and promises to hand over £26million from Nigeria.
Maybe you are very young or have no knowledge of the Internet? If that is the case, never reply to people you don't know by email or phone. Never hand all your personal details over to people you do not know. Don't fall for scams and if you are offered millions in return for PIN numbers, credit card numbers, bank account numbers etc - delete the email. If you have suddenly won a lottery or competition you did not enter - learn to use the delete key.
I have no idea why people keep falling for scams - maybe they are genuinely thick!
If you want to send me all your personal details and your bank account number and photocopy of your passport and driving licence I will tell you more. See how mad that sounds? Apply the same common sense to unsolicited emails, there is no need to warn everyone else, most have common sense.
Standard User rogan8
(knowledge is power) Sun 10-Jan-10 18:30:12
Print Post

Re: Watch out for "Adobe" email


[re: v105] [link to this post]
 
I think you assume too much.
The OP appears to be aware of the danger. Nothing to suggest they have downloaded anything from it

Edited by rogan8 (Sun 10-Jan-10 18:32:34)

Standard User ARD
(knowledge is power) Thu 14-Jan-10 11:14:17
Print Post

Re: Watch out for "Adobe" email


[re: rogan8] [link to this post]
 
Thanks. smile I've been using the Net at home since '95 and for some years before in an educational institution. I posted to alert others to the risk. I have not suffered as a result of this spam/phishing issue, though experienced users and Net newbies can all make the occasional mistake. I noticed your post this morning, shortly after anothe phoney "Abode" email landed.

______________________________________
IDNet

Sync: 8128 / 832 kbps
IP Profile 7150 kbps
SNR Margin: 17.0-12.5 dB
Line Attenuation: 20.0 dB
SpeedTouch 585

I am approximately 930 metres from the exchange (straight line distance)
Standard User Gypsydog
(fountain of knowledge) Thu 14-Jan-10 14:25:51
Print Post

Re: Watch out for "Adobe" email


[re: v105] [link to this post]
 
re: ..... there is no need to warn everyone else, most have common sense.

My grandad used to say that.... the trouble with common sense is that it ain't very common... tongue

Every man should have at least two computers; one to use and one to tinker with.


DrayTek Vigor 2710n






Standard User MadMan
(knowledge is power) Thu 14-Jan-10 16:21:35
Print Post

Re: Watch out for "Adobe" email


[re: ARD] [link to this post]
 
--------------
shortly after another phoney "Abode" email landed
--------------

Hmm, maybe a better spam filter is needed. wink
Standard User XRaySpeX
(fountain of knowledge) Thu 14-Jan-10 19:09:25
Print Post

Re: Watch out for "Adobe" email


[re: v105] [link to this post]
 
There was no need to be insulting. The OP was simply raising a warning flag; not asking for a lecture on Net Safety frown

1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg BB
Standard User TrevorSP
(knowledge is power) Fri 15-Jan-10 14:53:04
Print Post

Re: Watch out for "Adobe" email


[re: XRaySpeX] [link to this post]
 
Actually, I agree with that, I think that the OP was right to post a warning ot a potential problem for people to read and thus be prepared.
I really don't see the problem with that.

If the OP posted a really really stupid warning, well, it hard to think of one really, but something like, don't have any dealings with a solictor in Nigeria, no matter who he says he represents, then yes, it may be obvious TO US, but is not obvious to everyone!

Even if someone felt the OP had to be "corrected" then there are much more polite ways to do it frankly!

People do still fall for these simple and stupid traps, otherwise they wouldn't be bringing out fresh ones all the time! ! !

The OP was trying to be kind and warn everyone, can't it just be left at that?

Regards,
Trevor

2 x F2S 8mb lines, current speeds a rock solid 6.4mbps on each one.(hiding behind DG834PN & DGN2000 routers) on: a Win7 32 (RTM) Laptop, Win7 64 (RTM) ) PC & WinVista Ultimate Laptop.
Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread

Jump to