Technical Discussion
  >> Security Related Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User spranglebolt
(member) Sun 20-Mar-11 17:46:35
Print Post

Kaspersky 2011

[link to this post]

I've been running Kaspersky Internet Security for two years quite contentedly and have no desire to change.

The company now tells me that I need to renew my licence. Fair enough.

I had proposed to buy new, as Amazon offers it cheaper than the update - except that several posters on Amazon report that KIS 2011 has 'issues'.

My query is, please - if I use the 2011 key just to continue using my existing app, i.e.I don't actually install 2011, what will be the practical and/or perceived difference against the new version?
Standard User cajef
(experienced) Sun 20-Mar-11 18:54:12
Print Post

Re: Kaspersky 2011

[re: spranglebolt] [link to this post]

Which version are you using, if it is KIS2009 it is no longer supported by Kaspersky although they are still issuing updates to the AV until December this year.

TBH I had problems on my desktop running XP when I installed KIS2010, it slowed the computer down and web pages took ages to download so I went back to KIS2009 which I have no problems with, because of that I have not tried KIS2011 on the desktop.

However the laptop running Vista with KIS2010 and now updated to KIS2011 has not had issues or problems.

PlusNet ADSL2+
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.
Standard User MadMan
(knowledge is power) Sun 20-Mar-11 19:33:59
Print Post

I've had no problems with Kaspershy 2011. Running fine on 2 64bit machines & a laptop.

If you buy the CD, just use the key & download the latest KIS .exe file online.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User RiffRaff
(knowledge is power) Sun 20-Mar-11 19:58:45
Print Post

[re: MadMan] [link to this post]

No issues here either with 2011 on x64 Win7.