General Discussion
  >> tbbMeter Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User phit03
(newbie) Wed 13-Jun-12 19:13:12
Print Post

tbbmeter shows wildly inaccurate figures

[link to this post]

Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum so I apologise if this has already been covered but I couldn't find any matches on a search.

I've just installed tbbmeter and it's showing wildly innacurate figures in the stats.
For instance the stats for today show that I've downloaded 71.403GB and uploaded 1.833GB. Pretty good going as the PC's only been on for an hour or so and a speedtest shows 2.6Mbps down and 0.21Mbps up.

The PC has 3 network interfaces (2 ethernet and 1 wireless) but only 1 of the ethernet interfaces is enabled. It also shows a Vodafone Mobile Connect adapter that has a status of disconnected (I did toy with mobile broadband as a backup for the wired ADSL broadband)

I've also got Kaspersky installed with the proactive defense disabled to stop it from uninstalling tbbmeter everytime I try to use it.

tbbmeter should only be monitoring "All Internet traffic" not local intranet traffic.

Anyone come across this behaviour?
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Thu 14-Jun-12 09:10:32
Print Post

Re: tbbmeter shows wildly inaccurate figures

[re: phit03] [link to this post]

Have you tried the calibrate option that is in the latest version?

With 71GB in an hour or so, the green should be easily visible on the graph, and the Menu | Statistics/Alarms | View Visited Sites should show the IP addresses (and some host names if DNS resolution is quick) and where the usage is.

Andrew Ferguson, andrew@thinkbroadband.com
www.thinkbroadband.com - formerly known as ADSLguide.org.uk
The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User phit03
(newbie) Mon 18-Jun-12 12:13:12
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]

Hi Andrew,