Technical Discussion
  >> Technical Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User colinr
(newbie) Wed 20-Jul-11 13:00:45
Print Post

Sudden loss of UPSTREAM speed on Orange equip. changeover

[link to this post]

Hello all,

I'm on Orange broadband service up to 8Mb about ½ mile from the exchange (was previously Wanadoo). I used wired network not wireless (location SHIRLEY exch. West Mids)

Three weeks ago broadband went off completely. Orange said they had been swapping over their local equipment to UPGRADE the service (up to 20Meg possible??!).

I've been using my trusty DG834 (which was snyc'ing) for about 6 years, but they said it probably wasn't compatible (probably due to ADSL2 equipment or something bla bla) so they sent me their DGN1000 (so I was off for 6 days).

DGN1000 didn't work either so after another session on-line to 'Technical' they eventually had me adjust MTU to 1492 from my previous setting . This worked immediately.

However although the download speed has today a.m. come back up to my original speed of about 6000Kbps, my upload speed is only half what it was and hasn't got any better - about 190-240 when it has been about 510 for over 2 years.

I noticed the DGN1000 was only auto sync'ing using normal ADSL so I swapped back my very old router (still using MTU 1492) and that worked fine AND upload was faster at 390Kbps!

What's happening here then?? How can I restore my upload speed on their 'upgraded' equipment?

ColinR
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 20-Jul-11 13:13:55
Print Post

Re: Sudden loss of UPSTREAM speed on Orange equip. changeove

[re: colinr] [link to this post]

A lot depends on the combination of line sync speed, attenuation and noise margin, so hard to say much without knowing your old LLU figures and what you have now.

Upstream can be slower on the 21CN WBC network which they have moved you to.