Technical Discussion
  >> Technical Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User heli2412
(newbie) Tue 24-Jan-12 23:14:54
Print Post

Plasma tv interfering with DSL connection. Please Help

[link to this post]

Hi there, i am new to this so please be gentle lol.
My DSL connection keeps dropping everytime i switch my plasma tv on, this has only been happening for the past 6 days and i have had the tv a year, and the same wireless router since 2007. I have been and bought a new router which makes no differance what so ever and moved the router to the other side of the house which makes no difference too. I was wondering if anyone would know if buying a power conditioner would make any difference to this. It would be greatly appreciated if anyone could help or who has had the same problem.
Standard User MHC
(legend) Wed 25-Jan-12 09:10:27
Print Post

Re: Plasma tv interfering with DSL connection. Please Help

[re: heli2412] [link to this post]

What else has changed?

It could be that the background noise on the line has changed significantly and that the additional EMI/RFI from the television is enough to cause a loss of sync, OR the television has an internal problem and is causing a lot more EMI.

The EMI is probably radiated rather than conducted and a power conditioner is unlikely to make any difference.

Where does the phone line run?

Can you get the router stats for the line with television off, just after switch on and a few minutes later.

Might also be worth getting Router Stats Lite, set the sample time as low as it can go and run that whilst turning the television on and seeing how the SNR jumps around.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

M H C

taurus excreta cerebrum vincit

Edited by MHC (Wed 25-Jan-12 09:11:10)

Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 25-Jan-12 09:30:37
Print Post

[re: MHC] [link to this post]