Technical Discussion
  >> Technical Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User fitzy89
(newbie) Wed 17-Oct-12 02:57:26
Print Post

Faulty routers, speed issues and line stats.

[link to this post]

Forgive me if these issues should be raised in separate topics but I have bundled them all together in case they are somehow linked. This is a long post so be warned smile

I live with my inlaws most of the time now, after years of trouble-free service at my mums house with Freeola (Entanet), it's taking some getting used to the ISP they have here, AOL/TalkTalk.

I guess in some ways we shouldn't complain as their package is meant to have a 3GB cap and AOL seem to be oblivious to any over-use so we try to avoid speaking to their techs in case anything is noticed about our heavy usage (generally 50-75gig per month).

The main problem is we seem to get through an awful lot of routers, I'm an IT consultant by trade so I know a thing or two about troubleshooting and setting things up. We started out with the AOL-provided Speedtouch v585 (I think?) This router lasted about 2 months after I moved in (they had had it for at least a year prior to this), it would reboot itself or drop all wifi connections multiple times per day to a point where it was unusable. I'm not a great fan of these routers so it was swiftly headed to the tip and was replaced with a Netgear DG834G, one of AOL's supported models at the time, and a model I'm familiar with and never had any problems with them at other peoples houses. This seemed to die a similar death with wireless issues, all wifi clients would be regularly disconnected, then the ADSL connection started to drop often so then we replaced it with a D-Link router, I cannot remember the model from memory, but again, wifi started playing up, although it didn't kick off all the clients like previous routers, the signal just dropped to a very low level where only clients within about 10 feet