Technical Discussion
  >> Technical Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User swlivesley
(newbie) Wed 21-Aug-13 20:33:34
Print Post

Broadband Dropping

[link to this post]

Hey All! It's my first time posting, so I hope it's in the right section.

Basically I have a Belkin N-500 router, with an AOL broadband connection. The speed itself is perfect, in fact its very good. But the connection continuously drops out, and I mean continuously. Several times a day I have to restart it. There is currently, 2 laptops, 2 computers, 2 tablets, and 4 phones connected to it at any one time using the bandwidth, but none of them are using anything hefty like movie streaming, its basic browsing and low quality youtube videos. Also, the connection to the devices is refused sometimes, and I can't access the setup page over my wireless.

Does anyone have an idea of how to sort it out or what could be wrong? What kind of information do you need from me?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 21-Aug-13 20:50:20
Print Post

Re: Broadband Dropping

[re: swlivesley] [link to this post]

Is the router reporting the ADSL line dropping out? OR is it what it sounds like that the wireless is dropping out, in which case it could be bursts on interference on the WiFi frequencies or the Belkin just doing what some routers do and fall over now and then.

So first its look at ADSL statistics and make sure line is stable.
Secondly, if that is the case, can you turn off wireless on devices and figure out if its one that is consistently crashing the wireless side.

Andrew Ferguson, andrew@thinkbroadband.com
www.thinkbroadband.com - formerly known as ADSLguide.org.uk
The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User swlivesley
(newbie) Wed 21-Aug-13 22:03:03
Print Post