Technical Discussion
  >> Technical Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User aceideas
(newbie) Sun 14-Jun-15 13:23:00
Print Post

Line Speed Ok but speed test is Low

[link to this post]

Hi, I'm a newbie and am hoping that someone more enlightened reading this may be able to help!
I live rurally and so cannot get fibre and until last year managed a staggering 1Mb connection on Broadband. I moved to PLUSNET and an investigation into an issue resulted in a BT engineer paying us a visit and he completely rewired and replaced my Master Socket and we ended up getting a formidable 6Mb overnight. Fantastic for us.
In Feb we noted a very poor intermittent service that was giving us slow speeds again, between 0.02 and 1.4Mb. Reported to ISP and have had two engineer visits.
1 engineer thought it might be the router but the other (who is the BT trainer) could find no issues with their line or my setup.
The line speed test shows 8Mb but every speed test gives us the same 0.02 to 1.4Mb.
The ISP line test shows 6.6Mb.
We are now moving to BT in order to see if it gets rectified.
As for how have we tested etc. please see below.

Setup:-
Modem/Router is connected directly to Master Socket which is DSL only (Phone is split off downstream)
PC is connected via Ethernet. No other devices or wireless connected.
PC is in the same configuration as previous when we were getting 6Mb.
Have three Routers.
Original PLUSNET Thomson which BT though potentially Suspect.
New PlusNet Technicolour (daughter had a replacement provided but hers was ok in the end)
Brand New TP Link TD-W8968 (Just in case my daughter had given me a faulty one!)

I connect from the Master Socket with a brand new cable that came with the new router and have used the new Ethernet cable that also came with it to connect to my computer(s).