Technical Discussion
  >> Technical Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User calopez
(newbie) Mon 13-Mar-17 10:28:03
Print Post

Poor Quality Extension Wiring Affecting Fibre Speeds?

[link to this post]

I have a NTE5 master socket, put in by BT a couple of years ago. There is an extension cable attached to it which is quite low quality (it was put in years ago before broadband was common). Can this affect the speed I get over fibre, despite the phone signal being split off by the master socket?

I currently have BT Infinity 2 but I have been getting speeds under 40Mbps - though in the past it has been between 60 and 70.

Apologies if this has been posted in the wrong part of the forum...
Standard User MHC
(sensei) Mon 13-Mar-17 10:47:58
Print Post

Re: Poor Quality Extension Wiring Affecting Fibre Speeds?

[re: calopez] [link to this post]

Is this extension cable on the voice side after the filter? If it is then yes, it may have a small effect. If it is in the VDSL circuit then the effect could be large.

Disconnect everything by removing the face plate and then connect you hub/modem direct to the test socket. What are the results from there? And what are the basic line stats?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

M H C

taurus excreta cerebrum vincit
Standard User calopez
(newbie) Mon 13-Mar-17 11:42:11
Print Post

[re: MHC] [link to this post]

Thanks for the quick reply. The extension is connected to the terminals inside the front of the faceplate, if that makes sense. I've always assumed that is the voice side - but perhaps I'm wrong?