General Discussion
  >> ISP Unhappiness

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User bombaybud
(newbie) Sun 11-Mar-12 21:52:05
Print Post

Virgin Media

[link to this post]

Hi

Im pretty new to VM about a month now on 30mb XL package. Since joining my broadband speed has been completely erratic ranging from a full 30mb service that drops to as low as 0.3mb in the afternoons. My problems with speed mainly start around 3pm and continue to gradually worsen into the evening, and there is no consistency from one day into another we are talking RANDOM with spikes were the speed may suddenly jump back up for a short period before dropping down to ridiculously slow and even locking up completely. I have had the VM hub changed and this has produced the exact same results and i am really getting nowhere with getting the issue resolved. As i write now, i have been cut of by virgin media twice whilst hanging on for 40mins to contact customer services for the umpteenth time to try and resolve a really poor experience. Compared to my old o2 adsl 8mb rock solid 24 hour a day speed, switching to VM fibre has been a massive dissapointment and not what i was expecting at all. Look forward to any advise as to how to sort this situation out?

steve
Standard User JohnR
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Sun 11-Mar-12 22:14:57
Print Post

Re: Virgin Media

[re: bombaybud] [link to this post]

Sounds like a lot of heavy users in the area.

\_0-0_/ AdsL is Hell \_0-0_/
Powered by Oh 2
Wats SUP doc.... You using too much.....
Standard User zootlewurdle
(newbie) Wed 21-Mar-12 16:46:03
Print Post

If you are in an oversubscribed area (one interpretation given your stated symptoms), your chances of seeing a robust fix within the lifespan of the universe is almost exactly 0.