General Discussion
  >> ISP Unhappiness

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User wc_boggs
(newbie) Mon 11-Jun-12 21:57:57
Print Post

Orange - IP Profile

[link to this post]

I've been using Orange Broadband for about 7 months now ( DGN1000 ), getting 6-8 mbps average until this last month where my speed dropped to a constant 1.95mbps no matter the time of day.
I raised the issue via email with Orange and was asked to call the technical helpline. I've changed filters, using the master socket and all the other stuff they asked but nothing has improved.
I've been running BT Speedtester everyday for a few weeks and although my sync speed is a heathly 8.13 I have noticed my IP profile apears to be stuck at 2mbps so I'll never be able to achieve faster than 2mbps if my understanding is correct. I've had the router on for two weeks hoping it might increase.
I've tried explaining this to the helpline in India many times as well as via email but I keep getting asked to do the same stupid things, filters, master socket etc and I'm getting really, really frustrated. I was promised a line fault check followed by a call back a week ago which never happened. Can anyone suggest the best way to resolve the issue as I'm getting nowhere. My threat to cancel my direct debit never got a reaction.

Netgear Stats.

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 8128 Kbps 448 Kbps
Line Attenuation 20.6 dB 11.5 dB
Noise Margin 12.9 dB 19.0 dB
Standard User XRaySpeX
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Mon 11-Jun-12 22:15:37
Print Post

Re: Orange - IP Profile

[re: wc_boggs] [link to this post]

Sounds like your IP Profile is stuck. You need to Orange/BT to free it. Ask for the Fault Management Team.

What exchange you on?

Never ever cancel DD whilst in a contract. You;ll be inundated with debt collectors and threats of court action frown