General Discussion
  >> ISP Unhappiness

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Natty
(newbie) Mon 13-Nov-17 08:13:24
Print Post

Origin Broadband Latency & Packet Loss

[link to this post]

Hi, forum newbie here.

I joined Origin BB Fibre 40 \10 from Plusnet in May 2017 simply becaause they were the best value for money. Im aware of their bad rep but figured it was worth a gamble. Since they do not have a forum for help i figured ill post here instead.

I have been running a BB Quality Monitor since i joined, however this past couple of weeks my monitor is picking up high latency & spikes in packet loss, resulting in the internet being a bit sluggish at times with some intermittent disconections.

I emailed Origin with a link to my graph, speedtests & router stats but no response. So i phoned tech support & got fobbed off, he insisted on me downloading some software to analyze my connection however i only have an android tablet device & the software requires windows so he appeared unwilling to help.

When i first joined in May 2017 i did have some spikes of maximum latency & a snall amount of packet loss for a few months, usually during peak times which i figured must be down to congestion to which i submitted a ticket but got nowhere with tech support so gave up as speeds appeared to be unaffected.
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/...

Strangely this seemed to suddenly resolve itself from around 20th August & the graph looked good for two months
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/...

Then from 30th Oct it suddenly came back worst than before https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/...

The latest 12th Nov is the worst i have seen it https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/...