Technical Discussion
  >> Voice over IP (VoIP) Forum

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User hunkietechie
(newbie) Sat 23-Nov-13 13:51:38
Print Post

VOIP Phone - POE via Router

[link to this post]

Hi All,

I am new to the VOIP technology through physical phones so think this will be the best place to clarify some of my queries. I am in the process of purchasing a Panasonic KT-UT123 SIP Voip Phone for home use(SIP Trunking). I have figured that this does not come with a power adaptor and is primarily to be used with POE. My question is
1) Can this phone be powered if the RJ45 cable is connected at the other end to a normal wireless router?
2) If no, then what else do we need to power this phone? Would a POE adaptor/injector help?
3) Can you please let me know some models of POE adaptor/injector that will fit this requirement. Also I am a little confused as to how the POE adaptor works but that can be understood once we clarify the initial questions. Thanks in advance!
Standard User David_W
(fountain of knowledge) Sat 23-Nov-13 15:47:59
Print Post

Re: VOIP Phone - POE via Router

[re: hunkietechie] [link to this post]

As you don't have a PoE capable switch, you need a midspan power injector. These have two Ethernet ports and a power input. Broadband Buyer have several options - though other retailers are available.

The differences between the various models are whether or not they support Gigabit, also whether they support the newer high power 802.3ah standard.

The chances are that you need neither of these enhancements for your phone and a non Gigabit capable 802.3af injector will suffice. It's up to you whether to connect the injector at the phone end of the cable or the router end - as you have power at the router end, the router end will probably be neater.

(newbie) Sat 23-Nov-13 16:18:15
Print Post

[re: David_W] [link to this post]

Hi David,